Some suggestions please.

Claraviolet

Real hero hidden in the darkness
Staff member
Hello everyone!

I am going to post something really long :D

Here is my story. I am from India. Also, recently I got my degree in computer science and engineering (B-Tech  -  CSE). I was offered a job in an It company but , I kinda rejected that offer as I don't want to leave my family, as of yet.

I didn't know that, I might regret that decision. Well, without doing much research, I had applied for a masters program in the same stream, in my university.
Later, I came to know that, my university isn't really known for masters program. I was devastated. There are no placements for us masters students and the value of the masters degree isn't that great either :(

Now, I've realized that I made a serious mistake. I fought with my father as he didn't want me to for a masters program. So, this seems like, I am in a big mess now. I want to become a professor as I love teaching profession. So, it's good to have a PDH for that. Now, I am thinking of doing my PHD overseas. But, it seems like most of the universities in USA and UK, doesn't really count M-TECH as a post graduation course.

I don't want to go to a university who rejects my course like that. Also, I don't want to do MS from the scratch.

So, could you guys give me some suggestions regarding how to do PHD?
Also, would you mind recommending a country and a university for me?

My father isn't taking me seriously anymore. Well, I kind let him down when I rejected that job offer and all... and mom is too busy with her work( she is a head mistress in a government school). Also, she isn't familiar with all this stuff just like me. I do know one thing that, no matter what decision I make she will support me just like how she always did.

Right now, I am a first year(in masters program). So, I have one and a half year, to pick a country and to go a university in that country.